The knitting has begun!

I’m knitting a shawl for my wedding. It’s not white (or blue). It’s not a traditional design. It’s an asian inspired bird/bamboo print in a gray/brown/purple color that we’re pretty sure will look awesome with my ivory dress.

It’s been a while since I’ve knit anything this intricate, but I’m really enjoying it so far. I used to knit all the time during college, but during grad school I just sort of stopped (except I did knit my ex a harry potter scarf – it was a really good scarf). I’m one of those knitters that goes in waves – I’ll knit a lot and then take a break (usually one caused by my awesome tendonitis). For Christmas this year I knit three stockings for my mom/dad/peg(aunt). I’m working on stockings for me and Jeff, but it’s going to be a while, since all my knitting time is going to go into the shawl. I will get it done before Christmas…but no promises other than that.

Lately I’ve been thinking about how my crafting has changed over the past few years. When I first started sewing and later knitting, I made up a lot of my patterns. I was creative. Then I got to a point where I worried about making sure I did everything right and didn’t screw up. I would completely unravel and redo a project with a minor mistake. These days, I can live with mistakes, as long as they don’t interfere too much with the pattern or utility. I’m also more willing to just try things than I used to be. This shawl might be too hard for me, but hey, I’ll never know until I try. And anyway, how can I expect to get better without trying? There are still some things that I’ll never enjoy (fair isle), but others I’ve started to really like (stripes – yes, I know stripes are easy, but I used to hate knitting them).

Anyway…it’s back to knitting for me. I’m hoping to get the first 10 rows done tonight, although I’ll settle for just getting the first five.

Leave a Reply

