Sunday meal planning as a coping mechanism

If I’m really honest with myself, I haven’t been doing a lot of cooking lately. I have lots of excuses – the beginning of the semester is really busy, I’ve had to work late a couple times, the new fall menus are debuting at all our favorite restaurants, my allergies are in full force (which kills my appetite)… But really, I’ve just been a little lazy and uninspired. I read all these amazing food blogs and magazines, but then I get home and have to get food on the table while also making sure we have clean clothes and the cats have kibbles. Add in our new gym membership, and it feels like I’m always doing 3 or 4 things.

So instead of just whining about it (and getting snippy with my husband) I’m going to do something about it. I’m going to get more serious about planning things and sticking to my plan. It’s pretty much the only way I’m going to be able to make it through the next month or two without getting short with everyone and resorting to fast food every night. I’m starting with meal planning since I already have work and gym trips scheduled. And because I find it incredibly stressful to have to worry about what we’re eating for dinner on any given night. The funny thing is, I can’t be too specific about when we’ll eat certain things. If I do, I’ll feel constrained and end up just cooking whatever and have a fridge full of unused ingredients. So here’s a rough outline of this week’s menu in no particular order (not including leftovers):

Michigan salad (mixed greens, blue cheese, dried cherries, pecans, balsamic vinegar)
Macaroni and cheese (with horseradish cheese and jalapeños)
Butternut squash lasagna
Butternut squash chips (I have a lot of squash)
Baked jalapeño wontons
Burgers
Fresh ricotta on homemade bread with local honey (doesn’t this sound fancy? It’s actually a huge guilty pleasure. Just cheese, bread, and honey.)

One thought on “Sunday meal planning as a coping mechanism

  1. hey hey!! this is a very nice website here and I just wanted to comment & say that you’ve done a great job here! Very nice choice of colors & layout, very easy on the eyes.. Nicely done!…

Leave a Reply

