Book Review: Demon Lover

Title: Demon Lover
Author: Juliet Dark
Format: e-galley/ARC
Genre: Supernatural Romance? with a little bit of magical realism
Did I like it: Yes!

I had trouble putting this book down – I read the whole thing in two days, and it’s almost 400 pages long. Yes, the title is a little dramatic. Yes, the author’s pen name is also dramatic. But it’s a fun book, and (luckily for me) the first of a series.

The book follows Callie McFay, who just accepted a faculty position at a small upstate NY college. Her specialty is folklore and the demon lover (especially in the gothic novel tradition). Of course, like any good supernatural romance, nothing is as it seems. I’m not going to give much away about the plot, because the way the author chooses to reveal certain things is what made this a really fun book to read. Yes, I could see a lot of the twists coming a mile away, but it didn’t make the reveal any less entertaining. Oh, and if you have any experience in academia, you’ll really enjoy some of the jokes about what it’s really like to work in a college. Since I’m in the middle of my review portfolio, I really appreciated the tenure jokes. I thought the characters were likeable and the plot was engrossing (obviously, since I read the whole thing in two days). I was also a big fan of the inclusion of lots of folktale/mythology from around the world (with an emphasis on Celtic stories). I love folklore and this author was great at weaving the stories together. I’m looking forward to the next book!

Note: some of the scenes are a little steamy – I didn’t call this a supernatural romance for nothing. There’s an incubus (the demon lover of the title), and he/it does what incubi do.

 

Leave a Reply

