Book Review: Entangled

Title: Entagled
Author: Nikki Jefford
Format: e-galley/ARC
Genre: Supernatural YA
Did I like it: Nope

So, let’s start off by admitting that I am not necessarily the target audience for this book, but I’m not that far off either – I’m 26 and this is labeled 15+ and I love reading YA and supernatural fiction. Unfortunately, this one just didn’t do it for me. The story features a set of high school aged identical twins who also happen to be witches. I felt like many of the characters (the twins included) were shallow and not particularly likeable. The twins were opposites (with the narrator being the independent smart one, rather than the trendy popular one), Mom doesn’t really play much of a role, there’s the exotic mysterious boy with a tough past, and the nice normal boy. The girls get merged, thanks to a spell gone wrong, and have to alternate days in one body.

I was giving this book a shot, because sometimes it takes a while to get going, but I gave up on page 63 of 142 (I finished 12 of the 27 chapters). I can often push through shallow characters if there’s a lot going on in the book, or I’m curious about what happens next, but in this book I don’t really care much for the characters or what happens to them. It’s possible that something awesome would happen in the next couple pages that would completely change my mind…but when I started to get annoyed by how the title character was behaving, I knew it was time to throw in the towel.

Leave a Reply

