Lamb and Leek Pie

So I’m doing that thing where I post about food, but don’t actually have pictures of it. Sorry! I’ve kind of been really sick lately and I didn’t even think about taking photos. I just wanted to get it done before I passed out from standing too long. (Don’t worry Mom! I’m mostly exaggerating!)

This week I made the Balkan Lamb and Leek Pie, from Food52. It was a huge success, and Jeff had thirds (and I ate it for lunch the next day – and I don’t even like most leek recipes). I followed the recipe pretty much to the letter, although I decreased the butter a bit, sauteed the leeks in vegetable oil instead of butter, and eyeballed the salt and pepper instead of measuring. Also, I ended up with 2 pies instead of one – I must not have rolled tightly enough.

I’m looking forward to using the recipe as a base to play with – I absolutely love the cheese version we get at the Festival of the Arts every summer, and look forward to it all year. Now I can (maybe) make it at home!

Leave a Reply

