Obligatory Coffee Shop Update

For the record, I am writing this in a coffee shop. Actually, it’s my favorite coffee shop. Rowsters New American Cafe. I used to live a couple blocks from here, although I wasn’t a big coffee drinker then. (Probably a good thing, since they aren’t cheap. But they the best coffee in town.) Anyway, back to the update. The past two weeks have been crazy, which a pretty even mixture of good, bad, and neutral.

Good:

I have a diagnosis that explains the weird blistery rashes I’ve been having for the past 6 months! Lichen Planus. This is actually fabulous news because it means we can treat and manage. Combined with the discovery that was extremely vitamin D deficient, I think we can now explain all the reasons why I’ve been so tired for so long. I had kind of forgotten what it was like to not be tired.

Bad:

I had a negative reaction to the massive doses of steroids I was on, which meant I missed a work conference I was supposed to attend. Instead of going to Traverse City and talking academic libraries, I sat on the couch with my feet above my heart trying to get the swelling to go down. I’m doing a lot better now, although I’m still not able to walk for more than 10-15 minutes before I start limping. So basically, until the swelling goes down completely I feel like I’m 80.

Neutral:

I still haven’t completely decided what I’m doing for my birthday. My family is coming into town, which is exciting, and I have the week mostly off (except for a couple meetings). I usually bring baked goods to work, but since we’re displaced (and I can’t stand to bake) it’s a little awkward. With the family, we’re going out to dinner a couple times, and I’m hosting them for dinner at least once. I’m pretty excited about my birthday, since you know, birthday! But everything has been so crazy lately that it sort of snuck up on me.

Overall, things are looking up and I’m generally pretty happy. And more importantly, now that I’m feeling human again I can get back to cooking and reading and all the other fun things that I didn’t feel up to for the past few months. 

Leave a Reply

