Book Review: A History of Food in 100 Recipes

Title: A History of Food in 100 Recipes
Author: William Sitwell
Format: e-galley from NetGalley
Genre: Nonfiction/Food
Did I like it: Mostly

I should start this review with two disclosures: (1) I don’t really read non-fiction and (2) I didn’t make it all the way through this book. Ok, third disclosure: I’m going to buy a copy of this for our personal library, even though I didn’t love this one the way I do some of the fiction I review.

This book seeks to give a quick overview of the history of food over thousands of years – going from Egyptian bread to 1970’s fondue. It’s a fun read, in short bursts (which is great because the chapters are only a few pages long), but I couldn’t handle reading too much at a time. Since this is a food history, it doesn’t shy away from some of the more…icky parts of food history. (You know, the usual, torturing your food before you kill it because it “makes it taste better”. Yes, I know my meat was an animal, but I’m a wimp when it comes to acknowledging how terrible humans sometimes were/are.) It’s really interesting to see how much we’ve changed, but also how much of our food culture stayed the same. Also – the back story of gravlax is FASCINATING.

Leave a Reply

