Book Review: Simply Delicious Amish Cooking

Title: Simply Delicious Amish Cooking: Recipes and stories from the Amish of Sarasota, Florida
Author: Sherry Gore
Format: e-ARC from NetGalley
Genre: Cookbook
Did I like it: Eh – I didn’t dislike it, but I didn’t love it either

I think part of my dissatisfaction with this book came from my expectations going into it. I grew up in an area that had a pretty significant Amish population, but our Amish are quite different from the Amish community depicted in this cookbook. I shouldn’t be surprised about this, given the fact that the Amish (like any religious group) vary significantly from community to community. But it was a little bit of a let down to find a cookbook that reminded me of any great small town community cookbook, rather than a book that walked through the unique nature of Amish cooking and the role of food in culture. I think this would be a great book to add to a public library’s collection, especially if you find that your Amish romances are getting a lot of circulation. It would also be a great gift idea to anyone who has a tendency to collect small town community cookbooks. The recipes are all very do-able, even if you aren’t a talented chef, although I thought they were a little old fashioned. Still, the little asides about recipes and daily life in the communities depicted in this book made for fun and interesting reading.

Leave a Reply

