Book Review: Peregrine Harker & The Black Death

Title: Peregrine Harker & The Black Death
Author: Luke Hollands
Format: e-ARC from NetGalley
Genre: Mystery/Adventure/Historic
Did I like it: YES

I read this book in two days. I started it at lunch on Monday, read it at the gym that night, and then finished it during lunch on Tuesday. Yes, it’s that good.

The story centers around a teenaged orphan (Peregrine Harker), the son of two adventurers who mysteriously disappeared in South America. He’s working as a journalist, but is one story away from being fired when his editor gives him an assignment – find out what’s behind the rising tea prices, rumored to be related to smuggling. I won’t give away too much of the plot, but there are a lot of twists and turns, intrigue, love, kidnapping, and more than a couple scoundrels. Yes, I called them scoundrels. I figure if I can’t use it to describe this book, I would never get the opportunity. Peregrine Harker is the modern version of a penny dreadful, but with much better writing. (That’s meant as a compliment! It kept me reading just to see what the next step would be.)

Leave a Reply

