Book Review: Lace One Skein Wonders

Title: Lace One Skein Wonders
Author:  Judith Durant
Format: e-ARC from NetGalley
Genre: Knitting/Crafts
Rating: 3.5/5

I’ve flipped through most of the books in the “One Skein Wonders” series, and I own at least one of them (the one that uses sock yarn). At first I was disappointed by this book, because I thought it would be all patterns using lace weight yarn – which makes sense if you remember that I have the sock yarn book. Once I sort of let go of that assumption, this was a pretty good book. The lace in the title refers not to the yarn, but to lacey patterns in each of the garments or accessories. This would be a great book for someone who wants to get started with lace knitting (there are some relatively easy patterns) or for someone who really prefers to knit lace over cables or colorwork. I’ve seen at least 4 patterns for scarves and wraps that I’d like to make, as well as a couple patterns for fingerless mitts that would be great for gifts. This is a solid addition to any knitter’s personal collection or to a public library’s craft collection.

Leave a Reply

