Book Review: Isa Does It

Edited AGAIN to add: I mistakenly published this review early! I meant to put it up closer to the release date of October 22. Normally I don’t post reviews until the day or week of. I’ll leave it up since it’s one of my few posts to actually receive a comment, but I do want to apologize for jumping the gun.

 

Title: Isa Does It (Amazingly Easy, Wildly Delicious Vegan Recipes for Every Day of the Week)
Author: Isa Chandra Moskowitz
Format: e-ARC from NetGalley
Genre: cookbook
Rating: 5/5

I loved this cookbook! Let me start out by saying that I am not, nor will I ever be a vegan. I love my leather handbags and cheese too much. But I’ve never been much of a meat eater and lately I’ve been reducing my meat intake even more. This cookbook had TONS of recipes that I could see myself cooking on a regular basis – for once a cookbook that is totally honest when they say the recipes could be made every day of the week!

We made the Korean BBQ Portobello Burgers (ETA: I double checked and this was the correct name for the recipe! when I wrote this review I wasn’t sure I got it right) and it was fantastic. Flavorful, filling, and you definitely didn’t miss any beef. Jeff and I both ate two.

The best part of this cookbook is that while the recipes are vegan, any cook could modify them to be vegetarian or even meaty just by switching out a couple of ingredients. (Think sour cream instead of cashew cream and beef broth or a little bit of bacon.) I’m really looking forward to picking up a print copy of this book to add to my personal collection (and recommending it to every vegetarian and every library I can think of).

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Isa Does It

    • Hi Kitty,

      I’m sorry you didn’t find this review helpful. I’ve gone back and confirmed the name of the specific recipe I tested, which I’m assuming was one of the parts of the review you didn’t find helpful. My reviews aren’t meant to be comprehensive, so I can understand your disappointment if that’s what you were hoping for. I’d be happy to answer any questions you have about the book.

Leave a Reply

