Book Review: Love Overdue

Title: Love Overdue
Author: Pamela Morsi
Format: e-ARC from NetGalley
Genre: Romance
Rating: 4/5

I almost gave up on this book after the first 5 pages. The librarian stereotypes were hitting all my buttons. It was a little too much, especially the bun and long gray skirt suite. The good news is, it turned out that the main character (DJ) was dressing that way in an attempt to be what she thought a librarian should be. You see, DJ was running away from her past. Nothing too sordid, although there was one night of misbehavior during spring break. She had an unhappy childhood and was looking to settle down and find a new hometown. I don’t want to give away too much of the plot, so I’ll just leave you with one hint at the book’s major point of drama – the world is a VERY small place, and you often find what you’re running away from when you least expect it.

The story takes place in a very small town in Kansas, but there’s no judgement on the lives of small town inhabitants. They face the challenges head on (EVERYONE knows your business) without being snarky about it and I thought the characters were likeable without being flawless. Everyone had their reasons for being a little quirky, but they were good reasons and actually reminded me of a lot of people I’ve known over the years.

This was a really fun modern romance. There were a few risque scenes, but this is not a particularly naughty book. The story line focused more on the relationship between the two main characters than it did their sex life. I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would, especially since EVERY librarian on Twitter had been talking about it for months. I would note though that there are some potential triggers in the book – specifically related to suicide. I was really impressed by the way the author handled this part of the story – without giving too much away, it was very sensitive and realistic and not at all sensational. It fit the story and was clearly included to further the story rather than get a reaction. But I would want any potential reader to be aware of it before they hit that part of the book.

And in case you’re wondering – yes, there’s a happy ending! I don’t think that’s a spoiler, since it is a romance novel and they almost always have a happy ending.

Leave a Reply

