Book Review: The Founding Farmers Cookbook

Title: The Founding Farmers Cookbook
Author: Founding Farmers (with Nevin Martell)
Format: e-ARC from NetGalley
Genre: Cookbook
Rating: 3/5

This is a restaurant cookbook, highlighting the recipes and story of The Founding Farmers, which is owned by a group of American farmers. It’s a great concept and I was really excited when I first saw this book. My husband and I are big fans of the farm to table movement and patronize restaurants and shops that support our local farmers, so I’m solidly in this book’s demographic. But I was really disappointed once I started to flip through. The recipes in this book are predictable and relatively basic. Think vegetable pickles, Yankee pot roast, chicken and waffles, deviled eggs, etc. I guess that means that they’re classics, but it also means that this book doesn’t stand out from the crowd of farm to table/new basics books. The one really unusual recipe that caught my eye was a homemade bourbon Worcestershire sauce. It sounded delicious, but I can’t really imagine why anyone would make their own Worcestershire sauce. (Look, I’m all for DIY, but Worcestershire sauce is fermented. It has fermented fish. Do you really want fermenting fish in the fridge with the milk you put on your cereal?)

I would recommend this book for a library with a large cookbook budget or a significant farm to table community, but it’s not a must buy.

Leave a Reply

